Heller Lecture Series in Computational Neuroscience

A special lecture series dedicated to bringing the latest neuroscience research to the public.

In 2002, Sir Michael and Lady Morven Heller, a generous and philanthropic couple from London, endowed a lecture series at ELSC with an annual sum of £15,000. This lecture series, called The Heller Lecture Series in Computational Neuroscience, has the primary aim of acquainting the interested public with recent and exciting developments from the world of brain research. On four occasions throughout the year, the Heller Lecture Series brings a leading neuroscience researcher from around the world to visit the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and deliver two talks: a broad lecture for the general public and a more technical presentation at the ELSC weekly seminar.

The Heller lectures cover a fascinating range of topics that reflect the many interests of ELSC researchers, including molecular, cellular and systems neuroscience, cognitive psychology, modeling, and neurophilosophy. Past Heller lecturers include Nobel laureates Edvard Moser and Bert Sakmann, Patricia Smith Churchland, Mickey Goldberg, Isabel Gauthier, Carla Shatz, Michale Fee, Arthur Konnerth, and Christof Koch. These lectures are a source of intellectual excitement for the hundreds of attendees from all over the country, and as such, the Heller Lecture Series rapidly has become one of the most prestigious lecture series at the Hebrew University.

All of us at the Hebrew University, and at ELSC in particular, are indebted to the Heller family for their vision and generosity and for helping all of us appreciate the miracle that is the human brain.

Recorded Heller lectures are available online on the ELSC YouTube channel.




Prof. György Buzsáki

January 21st, 2020
13:00 (IST)

Prof. Kia Nobre

March 14th, 2019
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Michael Greenberg

December 13th, 2018
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Massimo Scanziani

May 30th, 2018
13:00 (IST)

Prof. Henry Markram

November 28th, 2017
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Eric Kandel

April 5th, 2017
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Lars Chittka

March 21st, 2017
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Brian A. wandell

June 9th, 2016
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Matteo Carandini

March 8th, 2016
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Joshua Tenenbaum

June 24th, 2015
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Drazen Prelec

June 9th, 2015
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Patricia Smith Churchland

December 4th, 2014
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Yves Frégnac

June 10th, 2014
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Stanislas Dehaene

February 25th, 2014
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Carla Shatz

June 4th, 2013
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Xiaoqin Wang

February 12th, 2013
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Arthur Konnerth

January 8th, 2013
17:00 (IST)

Karel Svoboda

November 15th, 2012
18:00 (IST)

Prof. Alexander Borst

June 12th, 2012
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Jean-Pierre Changeux

May 1st, 2012
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Robert Shapley

March 20th, 2012
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Dan Feldman

November 22nd, 2011
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Marla Feller

December 20th, 2011
17:00 (IST)

Prof. Isabel Gauthier

June 1st, 2011
17:00 (IST)

“Working memory”