Adi Mizrahi

Professor

The Eric Roland Chair in Brain Sciences

The NeuroPlasticity lab
 

Learning related plasticity in the auditory system

We aim to understand the neuronal basis of learning and memory in the auditory system, focusing on cortical circuits. We study perceptual learning and category learning as two lifelong processes that shape brain function and behavior in adults. To study the mechanisms of these types of learning we use mice. We developed automated behavioral systems to train groups of mice on complex behavioral tasks like perceptual learning and categorization. We use a variety of technics, including electrophysiology, multi-unit arrays recording and imaging to follow single neurons as mice learn, memorize and behave.

And in Olfaction - We have similar interests in olfaction and related olfactory circuits.

 

Parental plasticity

Parental plasticity is manifested by hormonal and physiological changes across the body including in the brain. We study parental plasticity in the context of auditory and olfactory perceptions. We use the mouse as a model to study how pup vocalizations and pup odors are recognized by their parents. We track how these cues are processed and perceived along the neural circuits responsible. Anatomical, physiological and behavioral methods are integrated to solve the complexity underlying sensory-driven parental behaviors.

 

How do adult born neurons shape olfaction?

The mammalian brain maintains few neurogenic niches in adulthood. One of these regions is the subventricular, which is supplying new inhibitory neurons to the olfactory bulb. Still little is known about the functional role of this unique form of network plasticity. We use various tools including mouse genetics combined with imaging to study how these new-born neurons shape the neuronal code in the olfactory bulb.

Honors

Eric Roland Professor in Brain Sciences

Recent publications

2019

2018

Contact information

Lab: +972-2-6585163 Office: +972-2-6586460
Edmond & Lily Safra Center for Brain Science
Floor 2, North wing, Room 1204A
The Suzanne and Charles Goodman Building
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Edmond J. Safra Campus
Jerusalem, 9190401,
Israel

Lab Members

Research Associate
programmer
PhD Student
PhD Student
MSc student
MSc student
MSc Research Intern
Lab Technician
BSc student
BSc student

Alumni

Name Email
Ami Shalev Student Avatar amirach@gmail.com
Amit Vinograd PhD Student Avatar Amit.vinograd@mail.huji.ac.il
Ariel Gilad Ariel Gilad ariel.gilad@mail.huji.ac.il
Gen-ichi Tasaka Genichi Tasaka genichi.tasaka@mail.huji.ac.il
Gideon Rothschild PhD Student Avatar gideon.rothschild@mail.huji.ac.il
Gilad Raday Student Avatar gileadcss@yahoo.com
Hadas Lapid PhD Student Avatar hadas.lapid@gmail.com
Hagit Kopel PhD Student Avatar hagitkopel@gmail.com
Lior Cohen PhD Student Avatar lior.cohen7@mail.huji.ac.il
Maya Groysman PhD Student Avatar mayagr@cc.huji.ac.il
Natan Gold Student Avatar natangold.85@gmail.com
Racheli Nisim Student Avatar racheli.nisim@mail.huji.ac.il
Ronen Eavri PhD Student Avatar ronene@mit.edu
Talia Singer Student Avatar talia.npg@gmail.com
Tohar Sion Yarden Tohar Sion Yarden toharyar@gmail.com
Yael Shlomai PhD Student Avatar shlomaiyael@gmail.com
Yishai Elyada PhD Student Avatar yishai.elyada@mail.huji.ac.il
Yoav Adam PhD Student Avatar yoav.adam@mail.huji.ac.il
Yoav Livneh PhD Student Avatar yoav.livneh@mail.huji.ac.il

Open Positions

A postdoctoral position is available in the field of neural and circuit plasticity under
the supervision of Prof. Adi Mizrahi. The Mizrahi lab is using state of the art
imaging, electrophysiological and behavioral tools to study neural correlates of
perceptual learning in the auditory cortex of mice. The successful candidate is
expected to join a project on cortical plasticity of local circuits primarily using In
vivo two-photon calcium imaging in behaving mice.


Requirements:
Candidates must hold a PhD degree in Neurobiology or related disciplines and
should have interests in imaging, electrophysiology or related methods (experience
is an advantage). Candidates should be proficient in English.


Further details:
Possible start of employment: Nov 2019
For more information, please contact:
Adi Mizrahi: Mizrahi.adi@mail.huji.ac.il